Penne a la Caprese

Happy mother’s day, to my amazing mom who inspires me to cook delicious things everyday!

I am almost embarrassed to post this recipe because its sooooooo easy.  But, its really yummy, a crowd pleaser, and great for potlucks, which is why I am sharing it with you today.  We’re going to my aunt’s tonight for a mother’s day potluck.  In my family, a small family gathering is only about 25 people, and it just gets bigger from there.  I love it!  I love being close to my family (both emotionally and geographically) so I can get my fill of love anytime I want.  So, here’s to a family filled with beautiful, caring, compassionate, and strong-willed moms.

Now, for the recipe:

Penne a la caprese (aka Pesto Pasta)

  • 1 box penne pasta (I used Ronzoni Smart Start because it has 5 grams of fiber, but doesn’t taste like whole wheat )
  • 1/2 of a 6 oz pesto in a jar*
  • 1 small carton grape tomatoes
  • 1 container boccocini (small fresh mozzarella)

Cook pasta in boiling water for 10-12 minutes.  Rinse under cold water until all penne are cooled, and drain thoroughly.  Slice tomatoes in half.  Slice boccocini in half.  Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, including pesto to taste.

Serve cold.

*I am currently growing basil, so a pesto recipe will come once I get some growing!

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

