One Week Wonders: Summer Tuna Salad

First of all, I want to second everything that Sari said below.  The last few weeks have been CRAZY for me with work and travel.  I’ve eaten more meals at the Penn Station Chickpea than I have in my apartment and more chocolate chip cookies than I care to admit.

Things finally slowed down this weekend and I had time to breathe (and cook).  When deciding what to make yesterday I had two requirements – fresh and light.  I found this Summer Tuna Salad recipe in a magazine I bought at the Boston airport, and it was definitely both of those things.  It’s also really versatile, which makes it a PERFECT one-week wonder!

Summer Tuna Salad

Adapted from Food Network magazine

  • 2 tsp honey mustard
  • Grated zest and juice of one lemon
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh dill
  • 1 12 oz can chunk white tuna in water, drained and flaked
  • 1 14 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cucumber, seeded and chopped
  • 1 bunch of scallions, chopped
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes, halved

1. Make the dressing first; whisk the mustard, lemon zest and lemon juice in a small bowl.  Slowly whisk in the olive oil until well blended.  Whisk in the dill, 1/2 tsp salt, and pepper to taste.

2. Toss the tuna, chickpeas, cucumber, scallions and tomatoes with the dressing in a medium bowl (I’d recommend doing this by taste).

3. Do what you want from here!  So far I’ve made a tuna wrap and also used it as a salad topper, with a light lemon dressing.

This entry was posted in Lunch, One Week Wonders and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

