Yes. No. Yes, I’ll have another piece.

This Father’s day we celebrated with my parents by grilling pizzas!  I had my dad, mom, sister Mallory and her boyfriend Jeffrey over for linner (you know, lunch/dinner).  We were supposed to cookout, but of course it rained.  Still, I grilled pizzas and threw together an amazing salad.  Both are super easy and, more importantly, incredibly delicious.  I think the pictures speak for themselves.  Thanks to mom and Jeff for the iphone pics!

Grilled Pizzas:  Makes 2 8 inch pizzas

  • 1ball pre-made dough.  You can buy it at your local pizza shop or Whole Foods.
  • Whatever toppings you want!  We made 3 types:  regular cheese, caprese, and “caprese plus plus” inspired by Figlio’s in Columbus
  • olive oil
  • flour
  • Grill (gas or charcoal)

Caprese pizza toppings

  • roasted garlic (cut the top off a bulb of garlic, drizzle with olive oil, cover with foil and bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes)
  • Fresh mozzarella
  • 3 Roma tomatoes
  • Fresh basil (from our garden!)

Caprese plus plus toppings

  • Fresh mozzarella
  • 3 Roma tomatoes
  • Fresh basil
  • Avocado
  • Balsamic glaze (purchased at Whole Foods)

To make your grilled pizza:  Clean your grill.  Heat it at about medium-high.  Stretch your dough to make about an 8 inch pizza, but make it oval, so it fits on the grill!  Make it as thick as you can, but not too thin that it doesn’t maintain its shape on the grill.  With tongs, place the dough on the grill.  Cook for about 3 minutes, or until the bottom has nice grill marks and starts to bubble.  Take the dough off the grill and flip the dough so the uncooked side is on the bottom.  Add your toppings to the cooked side.  Place back on the grill and cover, cook for about 5 more minute or until the cheese melts.  Enjoy!

Caprese Plus Plus

CapreseOh yes, and I almost forgot the salad!  Everyone was raving about it, which is so funny to me because it was so easy.

Fig and Goat Cheese Salad with Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette

  • 1 bag mixed field greens
  • Handfull of fresh mint
  • 5 dried figs (I used the calamyra variety, they are lighter in color and bigger)
  • 4 oz goat cheese

Balsamic vinaigrette

  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/3 c balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

To make the dressing, combine all ingredients except olive oil.  While whisking, slowly add olive oil to emulsify.  Or, you can combine all the ingredients in a blender or magic bullet and blend!

To make the salad, crumble goat cheese, slice figs in half or fourths, and tear the mint into small pieces.  Combine with lettuces and toss with dressing to taste.

Sorry I don’t have a picture of the salad, it went too quickly!

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yes. No. Yes, I’ll have another piece.

  1. 1. wowsers this was the best linner of my life.
    2. the mint was def the best part of the salad. so unexpected and delish
    3. I LOVE KENILWORTH KITCHEN
    4. whats the name of that incredible melon in your fruit salad? I need to get my hands on some asap

    • sarilevin says:

      I think it was called Cassava melon. It looks like a cantaloupe from the outside and inside, though. I found it at Kroger’s next to the other melons.

  2. Dave Mandel says:

    Mmmmmmm. Sari that looked soo good. I wish I was closer to you guys. I’d be over for dinner… Alot. Looking forward to seeing you all next month.

    Love uncle D.

Leave a Reply

