Dairy-Free Breakfast Smoothie

I am a huge morning person, ask anybody who knows me.  I always set aside at least an hour before work to sit back and take in the day.  This usually involves a combination of coffee, the Daily Show and breakfast.  Up until about three months ago breakfast consisted of a bowl of cereal, almond milk and half a banana.  Then randomly one day, I was just over cereal.

For a while the change was really hard on me, and there’s been a lot of trial and error with alternate breakfast foods – frozen waffles are good, but can get pricey; eggs take forever to make and require lots of clean up; Clif bars get old after a while; I can keep going…  One absurdly hot DC morning after a run I discovered a banana in my freezer. This turned out to be one of the best mornings ever because it marked the discovery of one of my favorite breakfast replacements – the Dairy-Free Breakfast Smoothie!  This is the fastest, easiest thing to make and is a great start to a summer morning.



Dairy-Free Breakfast Smoothie

Serves 1

  • One frozen banana
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 3/4 cup of almond milk (soy milk works, too)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh brewed coffee (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-2 ice cubes
Place all ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth.  This usually takes about 2 minutes in my blender.  Pour into a tall pint glass and enjoy!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Pantry Staples and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dairy-Free Breakfast Smoothie

  1. sarilevin says:

    Wow Alli that sounds amazing! I wish I had some milk at home to make this in the morning.

  2. lauren grossman says:

    looks delish! never thought of putting coffee in it. nice way to get in a little caffeine! (i am NOT a morning person.) i now formally request a recipe for a protein-laden smoothie that would be good pre- or post- running club!

Leave a Reply

